Poets logo

Situationship

The Ex Who Wasn't My Ex

By Sarah JanePublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 2 min read
Like
Situationship
Photo by Kelly Sikkema on Unsplash

You used to dismiss my feelings

when they conflicted with your own

:

And when things went wrong

you played the victim

Made me feel like I was the problem

:

You couldn't handle me

unless I was at my best

because it reminded you

of the demons shoved in your chest

:

The ones you hide from others to see

The ones you'd rather not look at

The ones that I could see clearly

:

It made you uncomfortable

when I held you accountable

Made you feel like you were less

but never considered that

I just was asking for mutual respect

:

You were hot and cold, child

when I just tried to be an adult

and set to resolve things

we could have easily talked about

:

But you turned it into drama

in your tumultuous mind

because anything with feelings

you don't know how to figure out

:

Couldn't regulate your own emotions

so you blamed me every time you hit the brink

Held me responsible for your feelings

Well, I ain't responsible for your shit

:

When you didn't get your way

you'd give me the silent treatment

Made me go from

feeling seen to feeling invisible

From feeling loved to feeling unbearable

:

I used to make excuses for you

saying 'he's just an insecure young man'

Maybe if I show him how to love himself

maybe he'll understand

:

what real love is

and how you should treat a real woman

But that was just a valiant effort

not even a woman of my caliber

could make happen

:

It all made sense in retrospect

It's all clear now looking back

You can't help a boy grow into a man

when he's still childishly clinging onto the very demons he's been projecting onto you

so he can avoid facing them

:

Believing too much in your potential

only nearly made me mental

You took my love for a joy ride

but my heart space isn't your rental

:

Trying to work with your childish pleads

made me realize your inner demon's greed

and…

:

Now I'm done sitting here

accepting your bad behavior

and making excuses

Because if I'm being real with myself

you were emotionally abusive

:

I deserve so much better

Much better than the half-ass excuse

for an effort in love that you

threw out as soon as it got too real

:

Yeah I wasn't perfect through the mess

but at least I'm grown enough to admit it

Maybe when your done being a child

you'll grow up and realize what it takes

to be a man who can truly love a woman

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Sarah Jane

Writing has been Sarah's passion since she was 7 years-old when she began writing poetry and short stories. Now, she's sharing her gift with the world. Subscribe, and come take a whirl in her words.

Tips are appreciated!

IG: @sarahjane.speaks

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.