Poets logo

Sitting

A Poem

By Mihaela VasilevaPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like
Sitting
Photo by Patrick Schneider on Unsplash

As I sit on the great, big porch,

My fingers wrap around a bright red torch.

Its flames give way to a demonic light.

I must put it away and keep it out of sight.

How brilliant a thing, fire can be.

It knows how to destroy you and me.

Yet sitting here has made me consider,

If I made a different choice, would I see you clearer?

I put the torch down and let it drown.

Now is the time to create a new crown.

If I sit and keep on wishing for new things to appear,

My dreams and their lives will all disappear.

I sit and ponder my existence away,

Keep holding on to the hope for a brighter day.

But it is I who truly hold all the keys,

To all the doors containing the could be's.

Has sitting and waiting been alright?

My breath feels heavy, my heart closed tight.

I have loosened my grip on what I loved most.

I have seen the great shores, I have been on the coast.

I have swallowed seas of sorrow and still

I cannot find goodness; I dare not find will.

For if I do, what will become of me then?

Will I count on my fingers, making sure I reach ten?

I don't want to sit and wait for the answers to knock,

But I always tend to fear the greatest shock.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Mihaela Vasileva

I write based on heart. I love based on thought. I think based on truth.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.