Poets logo

Sit Awhile

Lay your burdens down

By Erman BaradiPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Sit Awhile
Photo by David Werbrouck on Unsplash

You once lifted your face to the sun

Now you hang it towards the weeds

Your mind is a beautiful thing

One I cannot read

Shifting in silence

In your room of untouched curtains

You're sitting in quiet

Nothing feels like home

You're hurting now

You're hurting now

Are you in need of someone

To lay your burdens down?

I can't fix you but I can come through

Someone to run to

We say nothing

And I'll just sit here awhile with you

You once walked your halls with the lights

Now you're aimless in the dark

Bumping into things that pain you

And all you need is a spark

Lingering in dusk

Waiting it out for sunrise

You're hurting now

You're hurting now

Are you in need of someone

To lay your burdens down?

I can't fix you but I can come through

Someone to run to

We say nothing

And I'll just sit here awhile with you

We're hitting the midnight hour

I can pour more oil if ask me to

Give it some time and we'll see morning soon

We're hitting the midnight hour

I can pour more oil if ask me to

Give it some time and we'll see morning soon

We're hitting the midnight hour

I can pour more oil if ask me to

Give it some time and we'll see morning soon

You're hurting now

You're hurting now

Are you in need of someone

To lay your burdens down?

I can't fix you but I can come through

Someone to run to

We say nothing

And I'll just sit here awhile with you

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Erman Baradi

Screenwriter also known as "top networker in Hollywood"!

@ermanbaradi

@ermantourage

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.