Poets logo

Sisters

On Aging

By Cindy CalderPublished 8 days ago Updated 7 days ago 1 min read
5

It’s been a good while, why haven’t you called?

I’ve been busy, you know, during summer and fall.

You need to keep in touch, we aren’t young, we’re mature.

Yes, we’re considered old ladies, that’s one thing for sure.

Don’t be silly! I will always be younger than you.

Be careful on the stairs, sis, your bones aren’t brand new.

Hope you’re watching your diet and eating what’s right.

Yes, I always eat light (tho’ it’s all through the night).

Well, just be sure - you need to watch all you eat.

I'm sure. I only eat meat (along with the sweets).

Have you been back to the doc about you know what?

It’s working all right – nipped that right in the bud.

Have you seen you know who? Is she doing just fine?

Bet she’s better after drinking her big bottle of wine.

How’s church group? You've been going, I know.

Had a cold (cough) - haven’t been to the show.

Remember when we used to fly kites in the fields?

You're kidding? I can't even remember my last meal.

Hate to make it short, but I’ve got places to be.

No worries, I’m going back to watching TV.

Take good care of yourself. Come to visit real soon.

Can’t wait to see you - maybe next June?



humor
5

About the Creator

Cindy Calder

From Charleston SC - "I am still learning." Michelangelo

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran7 days ago

    Hahahahahahaha not remembering her last meal was so relatable!

  • Jay Kantor8 days ago

    Hi Cc - I see you're catching up since retirement. You have such writer's 'Rhythm' in all of your pieces that I've viewed; but, I can't keep up with you. My 'Twin' {see my sketch in "Twins" capturing when we were 3ish} The Alpha is (12) minutes older so I GiT the always be younger quip as you have. Best, j.in.l.a.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.