Poets logo

Sister, Friend

Another exploration of grief, after the death of a close friend.

By Haddessah Anne BricePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Sister, Friend
Photo by Benjamin Escher on Unsplash

Sister,

Not by blood, but of my soul.

We two together made a whole.

Friend,

And more than that, Dear Heart

We were together, even when apart.

Sister--

In Christ, in bond, in song.

By prayer, we made each other strong.

Friend,

Who could always make me smile.

Who always stopped and listened a while.

Sister,

I already miss our deep, deep talks,

Expressed with silly pics and emoticons.

Friend,

When I see Minions or penguins, I cry,

You were too young to say good-bye.

Sister,

In Heaven, with no more pain or grief,

You left me here, shaking like a leaf.

Friend,

Who always boldly marched ahead,

You've gone where I can not yet tread.

Sister,

My chest aches and I can't breathe.

Why did God say you had to leave?

Friend,

I really don't know what to do,

You took a piece of my heart with you.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Haddessah Anne Brice

An aspiringiring author, handicraft maker, and plus size model. Just trying to keep the bills paid and the cat fed, for now.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.