Poets logo

Sirens

his eyes, not mine

By Steve ParkinPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
Like

SIRENS

once upon a time

all I wanted was a lover in my picture

another nutcase to help me mess up

the assumed, generic schematic

that I thought normal people plotted

folks from solid oak tree families

ones that sprawl like cats on summer grass

but my valuable friend

Mister Self-Fulfilling Prophecy

you wanton destroyer of my personal property

heartless heartbreaker but still wants to come out a good guy

he is despicable but he can be magnetic when he engages

pummels me senseless when he's a chattering black hole

relentless and selfish he pitches his tent

right where my third eye should be

if only I had made the time

to find him a home

and move on to live my own life

instead of disrespecting the future

future being a newly-made mafia don

who becomes extremely disgruntled

when he is confronted with disrespect

he is making me scream at Tomorrow

"and don't fuckin' come back either"

how have I totally lost the plot?

he tricked me into this damning of the torpedos

dear Tomorrow, poor little abstraction her hot tears dance

for the neighbors

robbed of purpose she walks with jagged defeat

down the middle of the road heading east

a broken back and a tattered old briefcase

years spent terrorising the future

all the while hiding from the past

oh Jesus what a drag it must have been

to have had to be around me

but nowadays I take great care

to spare humanity the trouble

I grapple with the bastard alone

the endless, pointless arguments

about the value of reason

and who gets to date Fate

really pisses me off when he wins the fight

even with his hands tied behind his back

the prick must just be lucky

today he's stomping around the house

sulking like a spoilt toddler

sirens I heard in the distance

are you another one who holds your breath

not counting the beating for fear there’s nothing left?

oh my poor, troubled invisible twin

such a difficult and constant travel companion

who knows maybe a golden light might still find us

and what a delicious twist that would be, the professional underdog

having to cope with success

that's the kind of feel-good punchline

that the public sorely needs

and stranger things have happened, apparently

the world is a much bigger place than it usually appears to be

the few, unavoidable occasions you have to defeat the front door

Look, I'm not expecting a daily commitment

but could we both please try to make an effort

to wish that dreams

will come frequently

as heartbeats

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Steve Parkin

Songwriter & singer & backyard poet from Perth in Western Australia.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.