Poets logo

Sirena

If I were a mermaid

By Alice B. Schellinger. Published 2 years ago 1 min read
Top Story - August 2022
61
Sirena
Photo by Nsey Benajah on Unsplash

Under the water’s glossy surface,

I am at peace

I am serene

and whole

One with a force that is both me and not me

One with a life that feels so much purer than the world raging around me

I feel weightless,

and I move effortlessly

I don’t know how, but I move from one spot to another without resistance

You would think you’d see shimmering scales dotting my legs,

and fins where my feet should be

My hair cascades behind me and flows like the waves

as I swim past you

I look at you as if I’m seeing you for the first time

And you hear a sound

like the sweetest lullaby

Calling to you,

drawing you in,

as you fall for a mermaid

under the surface of the crystal blue waters

love poems
61

About the Creator

Alice B. Schellinger.

Hostess of the SchellingtonGrin Podcast. Writer of poems, short stories, articles, and reviews. Support the SchellingtonGrin Podcast on Spotify and connect with me here and on other socials to be part of the Community

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • Chelsea Hope2 years ago

    Beautifully written, great read.

  • Heather Lunsford2 years ago

    Beutiful

  • Shah Hussain2 years ago

    Hello Dear nice work ....❤❤❤give me tip i am new in this field plz subscribe me too

  • Lorna Dolan2 years ago

    Beautiful poetry. I love the theme and beautiful use of descriptive language.

  • Arbab2 years ago

    Beautiful one

  • Chezney Martin2 years ago

    This was very calming to read, fog-clearing, even. Thank you for posting, I love it!

  • Shah Hussain2 years ago

    Special one

  • Stephane Perez2 years ago

    good article

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.