Poets logo

Siren Song

Cries to an Almost Lover

By The Girl in GreyPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like

More water for my mind, please

Drape me in pearls and throw me to sea

Scales become the new kicks on my feet

Sanctuary where they’re all like me

Oceanside view for you while you see me off

Never to touch or sweep past ever again

You always knew that our love was wrong

So I sing with the sirens for our myth to begin

I was never made to roam the land with you

My home was never the sand or the city

Now there’s nothing here to remind me

Of your infatuation or blatant pity

Hold your ear to the shells on the beach

Try to hear my voice in the encased echoes

My love, I was never the heart you‘d need

You can’t tread where the creatures glow

So, you keep your home on land where it’s safe

And let me go back to the monsters in the abyss

You live out the rest of your boring days

And keep wishing it was my love on your lips

Love Always,

Chayle

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

The Girl in Grey

Our life stories are our grandest publications.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.