Poets logo

Siren’s song

Go to sleep

By Anna TorresPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Siren’s song
Photo by Ange Loron on Unsplash

The song is a lullaby. An epic tune meant to lure me into a trap. The sirens are brainwashers. They are the cause of my yearning. Dark matter is light. They are cunning. They play their screwed up games. I am tethered and out of control. A mermaid on land, a goddess that drowns. They seduce me with lies. They rape me with deception. It’s an infection. My dilemma is my death. A diety with her sights on me. My muse, my inspiration, my undoing. Their voices are fatal. Creators of human destruction. The pagans had no better plan. I can’t seem to run away. A prophetic prostitute. A virgin deflowered. Immoral conquests. I can’t undo the past. I can’t look away. An ancient basilisk. A forgotten fable. They call to passing travelers and they call to me. Enchantress, why do you torment me? Why do you charm the life out of me? Witch, why do you bewitch me? Am I prey to be ensnared? To be spellbound by an infatuation? Why do you mesmerize me? Make me forget about all I know? How do I repel you? Why do you enslave me? Magnetic, enamored. I go to the water to be submerged, to hallucinate. To inhale the flood, to soak in the swamp. The marsh invites me. I go to be devoured. I yield. I go to be free.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Anna Torres

I’m a 37-year old mother. I love reading, metal music, and writing. I have begun writing again since 2021

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.