Poets logo

Sins of my Father

by H. Z. Herrington

By H Zane HerringtonPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
2
Sins of my Father
Photo by Shalone Cason on Unsplash

I am not the sins of my father

Nor am I the sins of his father

Nor do my sins define me

I have mistakes on my soul

Yet I do not beg for the forgiveness of gods or men

My sins belong to me

But they are not me

I know I am not perfection personified

I am human

But that does not mean I should not strive for perfection

To be the best version of myself

Regardless of the size of the gait

Every step is purposeful

Every move a resounding shout of pride

I am not the curses of my ancestors

I am not the sins of my father

Nor am I the sins of his father

inspirational
2

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.