Poets logo

Sinking

A poem

By Josey PickeringPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
6
Sinking
Photo by averie woodard on Unsplash

If I lost hope on every sinking ship,

I'd have drowned by now.

I've floated on stormy seas to find my salvation,

searching through dry deserts,

composed of the dust of broken thoughts.

I wandered the jungles of my mind,

lost in the flora that grew from inspiration and the dead leaves of dreams that never truly blossomed.

In the icelands of the frozen centers of my being is the strength to overcome

and yet my hands are too broken and frozen to break through the walls of ice.

I sit in the cold and think back on the warm seas & sinking ships and wonder if I did drown after all.

performance poetry
6

About the Creator

Josey Pickering

Autistic, non-binary, queer horror nerd with a lot to say.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.