Poets logo

Sleepless City

A poem

By Josey PickeringPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Sleepless City
Photo by Luke Stackpoole on Unsplash

I snuffed out the stars

Because they were too bright.

The thoughts in my head

were far too loud,

too boisterous.

I could not close my eyes to sleep

because my eyelids

were stuck open in the hope

That I'd see fire again.

The birds stopped singing when they no

longer could remember the notes to their

songs.

I begged for quiet but even the

silence is screaming at me.

My eyelids weigh two tons now but my mind

is a sleepless city

and rats are scurrying.

I'll force myself to sleep because it forces the minute hand to move faster.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Josey Pickering

Autistic, non-binary, queer horror nerd with a lot to say.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.