Poets logo

Single or Nah?!

Leave it up to the universe

By Mesaye Published 2 years ago 1 min read
Single or Nah?!
Photo by Jamie Street on Unsplash

I know I'm confusing the universe with my vivid thoughts of me & my future mate

Indulging in one of those exotic dates

But when the time is set for intentions, I just stare and stand in such a state

Like a patron of a local food shop, rocking back & forth studying the menu

Wondering if you should try, then I began to

Shuffle from right to left, oh is this the part where I just...

Ugh what is wrong with me?!

I've been alone for so long, lonely doesn't seem that lonely at all

My daydreams of being in a union, where all of our adventures

Becomes a vivid viewing

From the organic greet or kismet meet, through conversations & late

night elations

I guess I imagined my mate would be at a distance

Whenever I searched for closer there was some resistance

Wild thoughts of us getting to know one another, starting as friends then becoming lovers

Eager anticipation of our next physical meet

My mind conjured up some amazing feats

But when it's time to turn those visions into reality

My mind forms this duality of yes and no-

You know you want this and I don't think I'm ready to go

All the scenarios of the union goes up in flames

Then I start kicking myself for being this lame

It's no wonder my person haven't shown up

I do this dance & now I'm stuck, wanting, dreaming,

Even believing of needing this spiritual connection that's ethereal

But all of my self-sabotage & self doubt becomes serial

Now I'm questioning wanting this relation

All of the back & forth becomes an abomination

I've been single for so long, it's become my new norm

I guess it'll be this way until the universe shakes some sense into me

And propels me into my destiny

love poems

About the Creator

Mesaye

From the moment I read my first Edgar Allen Poe story when I was 12 yrs old, I knew what made my heart flutter & what drove my imagination. Writing has been something I’ve loved doing, fell far away from & am now drawn back to it!

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • David Thomas2 years ago

    This is a really great poem and I love how descriptive it is.

Mesaye Written by Mesaye

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.