Poets logo

Sincerely, Your Ex

Inspired by 500 Days of Summer and The Sex Lives of College Girls

By Katherine BodgerPublished about a year ago 2 min read
Sincerely, Your Ex
Photo by David von Diemar on Unsplash

My dearest- no.

Dear- nope.

My love- absolutely not.

My friend... that’s not it.

I don’t even know how to address you anymore.

After everything we shared, all we outwore.

How do I write to someone I used to care for,

But is now a stranger on a different shore?

I just have so many questions for you,

You said you’d be my friend, yet that wasn’t true,

You said you needed “you time”, but that’s all you do.

The least you could have done was give me a clue.

But I guess maybe you did try,

When saying “love you”, you dropped the “I”,

After we split, I texted and you didn’t reply,

But you left me with a lie.

How could I have known?

You never said “leave me alone”,

If you had I would have reaped what I had sown,

Despite your absence chilling me to the bone.

All I want to do is ask if you’re doing okay,

Ask how long it took you to decide you didn’t want to stay,

Ask if you ever loved me in any way,

Or if it was just something you felt you had to say.

I just miss the way we used to talk,

How when we were set to hang out, I’d watch the clock,

How I’d think of you when I was a nighthawk,

I miss the absence of this shell shock.

But if I’m being honest, I’m over you,

Proud you left me because you had to,

Disappointed I was just your gay debut,

I wouldn’t take you back if I got the chance to.

I’m sorry it took me so long to take the hint,

Considering our relationship was more of a stint,

I guess I wanted to believe it wasn’t,

That after our romance died, we could have a friendship.

And while I’m mad you led that belief on,

I now know my hope was wrong,

And while I am sorry it took me so long,

I thank your patience for being so strong.

This is all to tell you that I got the message,

I’ll stop trying to salvage anything from the wreckage,

This relationship was just a valuable lesson,

And I’m focusing now on progression.

So, I'm sorry for being so dense,

And any unpleasant side effects,

I’m really glad we’re both taking new steps.

Sincerely, Your Ex.

heartbreak

About the Creator

Katherine Bodger

I’ve always loved to write. Whether or not I’m any good, well, that’s for others to decide.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Katherine BodgerWritten by Katherine Bodger

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.