Poets logo

Simply Stripy

Ode to the striped T-shirt

By Jenifer NimPublished 9 months ago Updated 9 months ago 1 min read
5
Simply Stripy
Photo by Lucas Marconnet on Unsplash

Stripy T-shirt, my faithful friend,

My love for you will never end.

So simple yet so elegant,

A garment truly heaven-sent.

You're not a mere season's trend,

But a staple on which I depend.

A classic look so excellent,

Your prevalence a testament

To timeless taste and ageless style.

That's why you've been around a while.

***

What other top could look so good

From infancy to adulthood?

So versatile, it will not fail

On beach, city street, or mountain trail.

I remember you from childhood,

We'll be friends 'til the end, in all likelihood.

I look at you and you tell a tale

Of sitting, sipping sweet cocktails

Next to a sparkling sapphire sea,

Summers past and summers yet to be.

***

Are you blue with white lines or white with blue?

Ooh, philosophy, you do that too!

With other shirts, I've had flirtations,

But they all had an expiration.

Today I've another rendezvous

With my striped T-shirt tried and true.

They say style never goes out of fashion.

I guess that explains the French's passion

For this humble banded top:

The Queen of Tees! Their stripy God!

By charlesdeluvio on Unsplash

love poems
5

About the Creator

Jenifer Nim

I’ve got a head full of stories and a hard drive full of photos; I thought it was time to start putting them somewhere.

I haven’t written anything for many, many years. Please be kind! 🙏

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Test7 months ago

    writing skills are truly impressive

  • Harmony Kent9 months ago

    I love this, Jenifer! I can relate … there’s a certain favourite dress I’ve finally had to put in the rag pile. I feel like I should hold a funeral for it 😂 So well expressed 💕🙂

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.