Poets logo

Simple Weekend Dreams

A little Friday TLC

By LilyRosePublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
1
Simple Weekend Dreams
Photo by Adrian Swancar on Unsplash

It’s another Friday night

And the sofa hugs my bum,

There is a glass of wine for comfort

And a curry for my tum.

When the world was but my oyster

And pearls lay at my feet,

How my young self would have horrified

At this weekly ode to defeat.

But I have learnt things since

That this green-eyed girl had not,

And nine ‘til five can be pretty hard

When your boss doesn’t give a jot.

So fill my mind and my glass

Of simple weekend dreams,

And while you’re up, save my feet

And fetch the custard creams.

social commentary
1

About the Creator

LilyRose

Corporate cog by day, poet by night. Writing is my happy place. Comments, follows and critiques are always welcome!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Annie Edwards 2 years ago

    Great entry, and I loveee that ending :) perfect :)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.