Poets logo

Wonder Love

The cards we deal

By LilyRosePublished 2 years ago 1 min read
2
Wonder Love
Photo by Glen Carrie on Unsplash

1. The Queen of Hearts

I walked my way through fairy tales

and held dear romantic cares,

For I thought the one who won in love

was simply she who dares.

So I drew those Jacks close to my chest

but Princes they were not,

And somewhere in the deck of life,

I must have lost the lot.

But then Alice already taught us

That the Queen of Hearts is cruel,

And if you wish to play her game

Then you're, my friend, a fool.

By Klim Musalimov on Unsplash

2. The Fool

The further you rise

The further you fall,

And I was a fool for you.

By Scott Gummerson on Unsplash

3. The King of Spades

We could truce I suppose

Push come to shove, smile serenely

and halt this steady conflict.

Let the tension brew awhile, simmer it

softly beneath the surface.

It’s perfectly possible

to surrender

to the sickening

suffocating expectations,

And honor those vile vows a moment longer,

Was there ever a demurrer delusion?

Health,

Wealth,

and Happiness

It’s perfectly possible, I suppose

but must we toss aside the final weary stand of Self

and silently slaughter hideous Hopes’s,

Dying rage?

Longing for the life we’ve forgotten how to live.

There is no peace in truce.

Nor peace in its surrender.

Prepare yourself Partner

And let us agree on this at last.

We shall wage our war

And let the final battle begin.

By Amanda Jones on Unsplash

surreal poetry
2

About the Creator

LilyRose

Corporate cog by day, poet by night. Writing is my happy place. Comments, follows and critiques are always welcome!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.