Poets logo

Silver Lining Mind

Andrew

By Sierra KatherinaPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
2
Silver Lining Mind
Photo by Matthew Skinner on Unsplash

“So much for distractions

On the silver lining mind

I was drinking wine and reminiscing fine

Until your image was too much

So what happened to the what-ifs in the meantime

You were beautiful in your own space

All the time doesn’t seem like such a waste

But I’ve grown tired in these crowded rooms

So what happened to the distractions

On the silver lining mind

When I’m drunk and overthinking you’re all I can find

Because of small interactions

And inner workings of the mind

Sparkling buildings and too fine dining

This isn’t the life I lead

So tell me why I seclude myself

In rooms full of people I call my friends

While I dream of you in your own space

And tell me why there’s glass cups on rooftops

When drunk people don’t know the difference

So tell me why I get so sad

Looking down the road

To find the lights in a line

Do you remember that time

When all we had were distractions

On the silver lining mind?”

heartbreak
2

About the Creator

Sierra Katherina

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.