Poets logo

Silly Cubs Hat

It all happened so fast, one Halloween night.

By Jessica KleinPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
blurring the lines between us

It wasn't always

you and I together now

happy as can be.

Before there was us

we were only just alone

with our thoughts and mind.

Slowly wandering

in the desolate places

we wanted to know.

Who we had chosen

treated us without content

and would let us bleed.

The days were often

dark and ravenous to us

in that sweetheart phase.

We made them happy

with our good deeds aplenty

to fulfill their needs.

When we moved away

from the homes we each knew well

there was hope for more.

We partied with new friends

and stayed out passed one a.m.

til the music turned off.

I got a new job

at a smaller candy shop

with lots of bright sweets.

One Halloween night

I did not want to go out

but my friends asked me.

Dressed up in crop tops

with braids tied in my hair tight

and elephants pants.

I drank and I drunk

before going to AEPi

dancing the night dry.

It wasn't til I saw

the backwards Cubs baseball hat

and your tall slim self.

Dancing through people

to close the space between us

with you on my mind.

When I got to you

there was only you and I

in the crowded room.

We grinded til dawn

until the music faded

and I took you home.

It was not always

us in this bittersweet world

but we found one love.

I'm moving this spring

to you with my dog in hand

and all is too grand.

The world is ours now

with four years for us to grow

and many more soon.

I love you so much

can't imagine life without

you right by my side.

All because that night

you wore that silly Cubs hat

thank you for just that.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Jessica Klein

Therapist by day, writer by night.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.