Poets logo

Silent Siren's Song

Strained, but never broken.

By Bree BeadmanPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
7
Roland Larson - Unsplash

It was an odd sort of group,

Ordinary in appearance, but still,

The hum of pure energy,

Of excitement, though all they did was sit.

He sat amongst them, quiet,

Unmoving, a small smile upon his face,

The chatter and cheers faded,

They did not matter, all I saw was him.

It’s amazing, don’t you think,

How much a subtle difference means,

His hazel eyes called to me,

A silent siren’s song, intent unknown.

I was lost in an instant,

My heart and soul no longer mine alone,

My future, my path, my love,

They were his, somehow, they had always been.

Adventures ‘round the table,

Let me learn a little more, play by play,

Courage, laughter, chaos reigned,

His secret self laid bare for me to see.

No mistake, I learned much more,

As our life as one set sail, on its way,

Everyone has challenges,

However unexpected we endure.

Children growing up so fast,

Careers and prospects gleaming in our care,

Routine and boundaries set,

Predictable, yes, and yet…

Nothing’s as it seems to be.

Underneath the surface, change was creeping,

Swiftly caught me unaware,

Why must I care? Why do I care at all?

For better, for worse, for us,

Those hazel eyes, their hazel eyes, still call,

Compelling me with their song,

No more pretences, time to move forward.

Together.

love poems
7

About the Creator

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  4. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran2 years ago

    Such a beautifully written poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.