Poets logo

Silence/What About Me?

Poems from Journal Titled, Black and Blue (2018 - 2019)

By Alyssa "Lefty" P.Published 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
A bruise always changes colors before it heals.

"SILENCE/WHAT ABOUT ME?"

Two joint poems derived from my first completed journal, Black and Blue (2018-2019). Written June 4th and June 10th 2018.

~~~~~~~

The absence of human

conversation

is music to my soul.

All genres register through

my brain and enter my heart

through different veins,

but this type of white noise?

Priceless.

Humming sound of the AC might even be

too much heavy metal

during this very second that I'm

tryna smooth it out with some piano jazz.

Why is she so comfortable with being alone?

Why are you so uncomfortable with spending one infinite second of your time

doing absolutely nothing?

How are those two

simultaneously me?

Exist and yet let the soul LIVE, Lefty.

Exist, and yet, LIVE.

"Hey, how's your day going?

Did you sleep well?

Are you feeling good today?

what did you eat this morning?"

But what about me?

"How's your family doing?

Are you feeling better?

Did you eat today?

Does it still hurt you?"

But what about me?

"Do you need anything?

Should I get that for you?

Do you need to check in with me?

Can we talk about this now?"

But...WHAT ABOUT ME?

"Why are you crying?

What's the matter?

How much do you need?

Why don't you talk to me?"

But, what about me?

"Why would you do this to yourself?

Why aren't you smiling?

Who hurt you?

Are you feeling better?

You know I love you, right?

Doesn't it feel great to be smiling?

Aren't you at peace now?

Aren't you happy again?"

But what

about

ME?

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Alyssa "Lefty" P.

28 year-old NuYoRican from Spanish Harlem who has a passion for writing, learning, achieving peace, faith, and empowering others. I've established a career as an educator and career counselor for over five years. Instagram: @alyssaleftyp

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.