Poets logo

Silence

Poetry

By Teresa RentonPublished 3 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
10
Courtesy of Teresa Renton (Author)

You are the noise

She & I created together.

You are the missed heartbeat

When she said yes,

And the disbelief

After she said I’m leaving.

*

You are the tear left unshed

A sanctuary for my sorrow

You are the space where there’s always a seat

You are the music along which my songs flow.

*

You are the temple for our incomplete story

You are where I go to feel.

Foe and friend,

You counsel me whenever I lose my words

And haunt me when she loses hers.

*

You are scales I can never balance

You bring gifts of ideas

You hold answers

And you withhold them.

*

So I run to you

and from you

Yet always I land on your doorstep

Humble, wretched, or overjoyed.

*

You creep up amidst noise

And yet roar louder

in quiet.

Silence, you are the home she and I shared,

Silence—the chasm between us.

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

Thank you for reading and please share if you know of anyone who might appreciate my work. Other entries for the challenge ‘After the Parade’ are:

or you might like this runner-up in the ‘From Across the Room’ challenge:

surreal poetry
10

About the Creator

Teresa Renton

Inhaling life, exhaling stories, poetry, prose, flash or fusions. An imperfect perfectionist who writes and recycles words. I write because I love how it feels to make ink patterns & form words, like pictures, on a page.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  4. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • Mike Singleton - Mikeydred8 months ago

    Ah I have been here before, my last comment stands true

  • Wonderful words

  • Melissa Steussy2 years ago

    Beautiful ❤️❤️❤️

  • Cathy holmes2 years ago

    Very nice

  • C. H. Richard2 years ago

    Beautiful❤️

  • This was so brilliant! Very beautifully written!

  • Tony Galbier2 years ago

    Love this, Teresa. It is elegant in both form and story.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.