Poets logo

Silence

You are the best of me and the worst of me.

By Aasha BianchiniPublished about a year ago 2 min read
Like
Silence
Photo by Molly Blackbird on Unsplash

Dear, silence,

I longed for you when you were forced

against a wall,

frightened

alone

angry

And miserable.

I needed you, craved for you even.

As if my stomach growled in a torment of

malnourishment,

Mouth-watering for the touch of your warmth to my parched,

splitting

dry

bleeding

lips.

Where were you when I was COMPLETE -

Complete with the clutter

Clunking

Clinking

And Bangs.

As you deserted me, so did people.

I heard your footsteps –

On the porch

Thud

Doorstep

Thud

Staircase

Thud

Behind my door like a lingering

shadow.

You slowly open it.

The anticipation is unbearable.

Creak

Through the darkness

your face

not bright

light

And warm

as I imagined.

But!

Dark

Harsh

Cold

And uncanny.

You reach out,

Grasping your hand around my throat.

Brittle

Rough

Like sandpaper your hands are.

I shiver away, your beastly presence stays near.

I grow

more

alone

afraid

bitter

And

silent

silent

silent.

Oh, how the silence is deafening.

I thought you were supposed to be safe,

warm

light

kind

And full of heart.

But!

You are my worst nightmare come

true.

I thought you were a friend.

Oh, silence –

Why are you so deadly?

You creep in

when I

am alone.

Not a soul in sight

But you and I.

Leave me now.

I no longer linger for your presence.

When you are here, Oh, silence,

I pray you had never come.

And when you are far,

out of sight.

I wish you near.

Goodnight, silence.

I desire you no more.

Silence

Silence

Silence

Oh, what a conundrum you put forth.

You are the best of me and the worst of me.

Sincerely, your greatest admirer and most horrid critic.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Aasha Bianchini

Avid reader, writer, and lover of all things classical.

When I'm not navigating the rigors of high school, you'll find me tapping away at my keyboard creating characters for my first novel, whilst listening to Tchaikovsky or Shostakovich.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.