Poets logo

Silence

_

By Elsa Michaela | @surfthoughtPublished 4 months ago 1 min read
1

The place in the small hours

Before the dreams come

And thoughts

Unbearable on waking

Silence

That makes me afraid to move

unsure of my standing

What I can fill plenty

with presence

I cannot fill with palms

And charters

Or sun struck terraces

In cold blinding snow

What I can fill with meaning

I cannot fill with trophies, made up and parcelled neatly

A face blank, unfilled, and agreeable

What I can fill with depth

I cannot fill with docile admiration

Nor disrespect by losing myself

Again

Adoring praise with no understanding

Flippant and cliched

The correct thing to say

I am intrigued by fateful things

By precision timing, coincidence

And fear conquered truly

Everything is real

I experience silence acutely

It is secretive and lonely:

Pictures

I never wanted to see

And you look so well

With someone else

Who suits you

Who matches your sunglasses,

And your t-shirt

Who fits neatly beside you

In all the ways I can’t

She seems uncluttered, and sweet

Free of risk

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Elsa Michaela | @surfthought

When you hear a song

One that stops you in your tracks

That seems spoken from your own mind

Do you listen and listen again?

Follow its streams until a tide,

Inside you

Rushes to fill in the small hollow parts

…Yeah, me too

INSTA - @surfthought

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.