Poets logo

Content warning

This story may contain sensitive material or discuss topics that some readers may find distressing. Reader discretion is advised. The views and opinions expressed in this story are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Vocal.

Sigh…Shadows Of What Love Was Meant To Be, And It's Consequence

Ode To An Abuser

By Kelli Sheckler-AmsdenPublished 11 months ago Updated 11 months ago 1 min read
4
Sigh…Shadows Of What Love Was Meant To Be, And It's Consequence
Photo by El Swaggy on Unsplash

She let out a sigh, as she sat on the bed,

a sign that she was set to quit.

He said, what is goin on in your head?

made you let out a gasp, like you did?

*

As the mood in the room and his head took a spin,

she gave him that, "you know why I did," grin.

He had only seen it one time in his life,

he knew, he was a dead man on ice that is thin.

*

The last time he saw that dead look in her eye,

was the day he used his fist, like a weak, lame ass guy.

She said, you need to get away from me, fast,

that was your one time, it will be your last.

*

No love lets you get away with a slap,

try me once more, I'll put a cap in your ass.

"What you give, has a way to go back that way too,"

I will not be the girl who will take this crap, from you.

*

No, you will not get to see me cry,

and you won't hear me, when I come.

But lay your fist on me and I,

will be sure, that you are done.

*

I took one last time, on the chin,

two, is too many to take.

The odds you walk away are thin,

not the kind of odds you want to make.

*

The time to hear my word, is now....

run, boy, run, your time has run out!

CONTENT WARNING
4

About the Creator

Kelli Sheckler-Amsden

Telling stories my heart needs to tell <3 life is a journey, not a competition

If you like what you read, feel free to leave a tip, I would love some feedback

Find me on twitter @kelli7958958

or facebook

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran11 months ago

    Oooo, I love women like this! This was so powerful!

  • "The Burning Bed" Even once is one too many. Even if she doesn't leave (or kick him out), the damage is done.

  • Joelle E🌙11 months ago

    Dont know if this is reality but i hope if so ur leaving him…. ❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.