Poets logo

Shroud

Stuck in its midst

By Quentin woodardPublished 25 days ago 2 min read
Like
Shroud
Photo by K. Mitch Hodge on Unsplash

I'm stuck in the mix of my mind

lost in the depths of my soul

wishing for these feelings to cease

but it seems that it will never be

There is an enormous feeling

one that can only get better with time

but it clouds my mind

so I am stuck with it, as it plays back at me

The stones and cracks on my path

the turmoil within each line of broken concrete

the story in which each line creates

I just cant break free

How am I to find happiness in the midst of such destruction

when all I feel is sadness as I stare into each crevice

because each one tells a story of a great start

but an even deeper sorrow

How can you feel whole in one moment

but broken in every tick of the clock

Is it that I'm trying to hold on to me

or is it that I cant shake all the love that's missing.

Years have past and I'm hit time an time again

unable to make sense of my own mind and heart

I tell myself I'm ok when really its a struggle

like trying to breath in depths of the ocean

I'm swallowed whole in darkness

but little voices bring me back

I can reach for hope in their voices

and suddenly there is light there

I cry out and their hugs embrace me

they do not know of such pain

nor do they realize it brings me back

and for that I know he is real.

So I will fight through this deep abyss

I will strike at my never ending grief

Believe in the word and continue to find peace

because it is the only thing I can believe

Clear the way for healing

clear the way for faith

keep my soul safe

and I will be whole someday

I am but a man seeking solace in a dark state

relieve my heart rom anguish

as it beats steady with a pain that's hard to mend

I'm holding on with dear life

Give me a path that's clear

give me strength in the midst of such fear

Shake this grief from my soul

That I may once again feel whole.

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Quentin woodard

I am the Poetic Lyricist. I am a Poet, father of twins, and Husband to a loving Wife. My words come from my experiences, some from inspiration, and more from what I see on a daily. Welcome to me and be inspired. IG:poeticlyricist.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.