Poets logo

Short Talk on Identity

The Colours That Fit Me (Red, Yellow, Green, Never Blue)

By Mya DoerksenPublished 5 months ago 1 min read
3
Short Talk on Identity
Photo by Aarzoo Jacob on Unsplash

I wanted to be Cinderella, so I dreamed of her ballgown. The blue enchanted me into its depths, and I wanted to drown. When I found her at Prom Forever, I silently wept. How disappointing it is to grow up dreaming of slim princesses only to find the unflattering feeling of wearing what’s not made for your figure. I bought a green sweater at Ardenes and I realized the colour that fit me; The colours that made me sparkle. I remember admiring the trees on long bus rides, and tickling blades of grass on sunny days. An element some believe to be ugly but surrounds our life and nature. When I bought my sage dress, I was doubtful and unsure, but I now notice its beauty, just as it noticed me.

sad poetrylove poemsheartbreak
3

About the Creator

Mya Doerksen

Hi there, I'm a student, a writer and an aspring author. At the moment I'll mostly be posting shorts, school assignments or challenge submissions.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran5 months ago

    The ending made me smile and it felt like a warm hug.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.