Poets logo

Short-lived love

short-lived

By esther hopePublished about a month ago 1 min read
2

I used to see a future with you,

Our love was young and fresh and new,

You were the first guy I went on a date with,

And the memories, oh, how I cherished.

You made me think of tearing down my walls,

Of letting you in, of breaking my falls,

I was so scared, so unsure,

But with you, my heart felt so pure.

So I pushed you away, afraid to feel,

Unsure if I could trust what was real,

But deep down, I was rooting for you,

Hoping against hope that you'd pull through.

But you moved on with haste.

guess you are not one to chase,

and I like the chase, I needed to be sure,

our egos would have collided anyway.

So I'll hold onto the memories we made,

And try not to let my heart be swayed,

For even though it was short-lived,

Your memory, I'll always hold dear.

sad poetrylove poemsheartbreak
2

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • ROCK 30 days ago

    I love the tragedy of love; excellent piece in my humble opinion.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.