Poets logo

Shipwrecked

navigating depression

By Nicholle MichellePublished 3 years ago 2 min read
1
Shipwrecked
Photo by Thibaut Marquis on Unsplash

How do you battle what you can't see?

How do I stop this monster inside of me?

Is it something that will pass and disappear?

Or will it grow and just stay here?

What can I do to make it go away?

What kind of price do I have to pay?

Why does it have to hurt so much?

It's almost as bad as an angry touch.

So I jump in my boat and try to escape-

I row for my life, but my ship’s not in shape.

It's not sturdy enough to handle high seas,

then the wind picks up, it's much more than a breeze.

I'm tossed around like a toy as it starts to storm-

I hold on for dear life and pray for the morn.

The waves throw me around, I've done this before-

Then they spit me out on an old beat up shore

I've been here before, and I don't like this place,

I wish I could disappear without a trace.

I thought I left this Island a long time ago,

but I'm shipwrecked again with nowhere to go.

It's the same landscape, though it looks different now…

Soon enough the natives will find me--someway, somehow

They won't come to my rescue, they'll come for the beast

This monster inside me is their favorite feast.

And with so many hungry mouths to feed-

they'll encourage its growth just like a seed.

I need to hide and find higher ground-

I won't let them take me this time around.

Cause if they catch me, I'm as good as gone,

you can fight them off, just not for long.

They show you the wreckage of your broken life,

constantly reminding you of your sorrows and strife.

They tell you to give up, that it's not worth the fight

they poison your mind and convince you they're right.

They whisper, “Why rebuild and try again?”

“You've failed more than once, you're not going to win”

This is a trip I refuse to retake--

I won't give up, it's make or break…

I have come too far to go back down this road,

but there's such an emotional overload

I find a place where I can hide

to quiet the darkness that's on the inside

I close my eyes to try to sleep

then wake again in the native's keep

They ready their daggers and sharpen their knives

and I know there goes my chance to survive.

Copyright © 2007 Nicholle Michelle

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.