Poets logo

Shell

What lurks inside?

By J. JayPublished 9 months ago Updated 7 months ago 1 min read
10
Drawn by me :)

A little man

with a lamp in hand,

sits inside my chest.

He’ll peep outside,

wave and say “Hi!

How are you doing today?”

.

Polite smiles falter

at this strange toddler,

greeting them in such a way.

They’ll stammer an answer,

to my small master,

And ask what he plans for the day .

.

The man will smile

a checkerboard smile,

shuffling pieces in place.

He’ll say, “nothing great.”

Then will dissipate,

With no words left to offer.

____________________________________________

This drawing was fun to make. I'm curious if people will see what I'm going for... Anyways, thanks for reading!

____________________________________________

P

surreal poetryhumorchildrens poetryart
10

About the Creator

J. Jay

I like to share my art and writings, whether it's silly or serious. I'll also feature a comic I work on called Writing Whoas, which is about the joys and hardships of being a writer. Stick around to laugh or cry.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Grz Colm8 months ago

    I’m not sure tbh but I enjoyed it! I got the feeling his inner heart was more enthusiastic with others than his outer demeanour and when this comes out people don’t know how to take it. Just thinking as I type…

  • As an introvert, that small guy reminds me of small talk and that really terrifies me, lol!

  • Natalie Gray9 months ago

    Kinda bizarre, but I like it. Cheers. https://awards.vocal.media/nomination?grsf=Natalie_Gray_VWA-Nom

  • Atomic Historian9 months ago

    I love it!! Shades of Shel Silverstein Is that your inner child?

  • KJ Aartila9 months ago

    Yep - being a human at the whims of a couple of cats, it's clear as day to me. 🤣🐱

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.