Poets logo

Sheila beat me at scrabble

on a Tuesday in July

By JessiPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
3
Sheila beat me at scrabble
Photo by Kinga Cichewicz on Unsplash

Sheila beat me at Scrabble on a Tuesday night

That was the first time I felt alright,

comfortable in my own skin

No matter the words said

from my next of kin...

I remember so clearly how she lit incense to burn

Oh, how I yearned to be ignited by her...

It smelled of sage and apples as the fumes rose high

Peach bourbon was poured generously,

then topped with cubes of ice

My fingers were cold but happier still

because she had touched them

it gave me a chill

It was a boiling wet Tuesday in early July

Humidity clung to our skin like white on rice

and the sky was still streaked with firework smoke

I thought I could die when she laughed at my joke

The grass was green and damp

as it grazed my calves

and the fireflies provided the ambiance

as they danced and danced

Sheila had just chopped her auburn hair

and it took everything in me not to stare

I like your new look, I said with a smile

Thank you, my dear, Oh I swear I could fly...

As the turntable spun Stevie Ray Vaughn

Sheila tapped her feet as she hummed along

I don't know that I had ever felt quite as free

to be loved

to be heard

and to really be seen

Sheila beat me at Scrabble on a Tuesday night

For the very first time, I felt alright

By Zhen Hu on Unsplash

love poemsslam poetry
3

About the Creator

Jessi

Writer on the Oregon coast. Lover of nature, poetry, and coffee! I love to write about my travels, lovers + mental health. Thanks for your support! Feel free to browse, share, and comment away. :)

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Mescaline Brisset2 years ago

    I loved this one! Happy games in the July humidity...

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.