Poets logo

She Worries the Very Essence of the Veil

Taking on the darkness in her arrogance

By Colleen Millsteed Published 9 months ago Updated 9 months ago 2 min read
5
Image courtesy of Pixabay

She twists and turns with the sentiments of her heart,

Struggling with the inconsistencies between her sorrow and her hope,

Memories flash through a never ending cycle of structure,

Until she wonders how it is that she’ll ever cope.

😇

Sleep rinses her emotions clear for a short period of time,

Winding her heartache back to a time of ill repute,

Tears bathe her soul in the whiteness of the foggy cold,

Her breathing haggard and heartbeat ragged in dispute.

😇

I watch her silent struggles and witness her immense depth,

I swear I can hear her thoughts that result in silent screams,

Every day a different procedure within her empathetic coping mechanism,

Beginning with the wisdom of the years withered in extremes.

😇

I long to offer her comfort but to be honest I fall short of her strength,

She’s got this pattern of control I can only stare at in awe,

Beaten, bloody and raw, her emotions should choke her belief,

But no, she’s gained a smile when most would hide and withdraw.

😇

The race she runs is always her best effort, her bright side,

Driving through a cyclonic force of will and sheer oath,

She holds her standards high in her declaration of acceptance,

Knowing if she stumbles she’ll beat herself into absorbing growth.

😇

She has no thought of the predicament of another tomorrow,

Knowing today is the day to live life as if it was a test,

Striving for the ability of easy survival, taking it as it comes,

Holding herself accountable until she’s at her absolute best.

😇

I ask her how she wakes from her darkest nightmares,

And she answers in arrogance, “I twist the hands of fate into desire,

I soothe the demons with a single passionate kiss,

And I promise the underworld I’ll be there to light their fire.”

😇

With that she saunters away from me with her head held high,

And I stand watching her as I shake my head in doubt,

Not in her ability to battle the hideous lord of the darkness,

But whether she’ll escape the consequences of the success or thereabout.

Please click the link below my name to read more of my work. I would also like to thank you for taking the time to read this today and for all your support.

If you enjoy this piece, you may enjoy this one too.

Please visit my website if you'd like more information on my newly published book, Battle Angel : The Ultimate She Warrior.

Originally published on Medium

surreal poetryinspirational
5

About the Creator

Colleen Millsteed

My first love is poetry — it’s like a desperate need to write, to free up space in my mind, to escape the constant noise in my head. Most of the time the poems write themselves — I’m just the conduit holding the metaphorical pen.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock9 months ago

    One day at a time. One problem at a time. One battle at a time. She'll triumph & survive until she doesn't.

  • I twist the hands of fate into desire. This line was so powerful! You did an incredible job on this poem!

  • ❤️💯📝👌

  • Wow. This resonates so much. I feel like it’s about me 🙈🙈🙈

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.