Poets logo

She Speaks of Anxiety

#VocalNPM

By Mikaela JaneePublished 5 years ago 1 min read
Like

Tread lightly voice in my head

Keep your tone faintly audible

Or maybe just silence instead

I know that you've come to ask me nothing more than questions you've asked once before

It's like listening to a broken record

The sensible words of a concerned parent

Sweetened gestures that happened to not seem so

You are the reason I have trouble falling to sleep at night

Because you always speak when I feel just right

And you tell me things that I know are for my own good

But the way you put it leaves me feeling a bit misunderstood

So if you must, do it now

Bare upon me "what have you accomplished at this point in your life?"

I am no longer fearful to raise my voice

My response is simple

I have survived nights I never thought I would live

I have experienced luxuries I never thought I would receive

And just for the fact I have made it another year

I have accomplished much more than you little voice would've had me believe

So please refrain from the usual question

When you decide to speak

Don't consume me with doubt

Build me up with beauty, love and light

Bright enough to see from the inside out

@mikaelajanee

#VocalNPM

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.