Poets logo

She Said Goodbye

To my friend whom I lost to cancer

By Ann DiAngelisPublished 3 months ago 1 min read
1
She Said Goodbye
Photo by Sergey Pesterev on Unsplash

Ask me what are my regrets

Before I slip into darkness.

Come close to me,

Don’t leave me alone.

Escape is impossible,

For this is the end.

Grab my hand and

Hold it. Don’t let me go.

I am scared, I cannot lie.

Joy is long gone, eyes are dark like a moonless night.

Keep back your tears, my friend. Goodbye!

Life is a struggle, and I know I lost.

Magical journey I was dreaming about,

None of my dreams, though, are still around.

Opportunities I had but my fate

Put them all down. I fought and I fought to exhaustion,

Quietly I cried in acceptance,

Remembering the sun caressing my skin,

Seeing familiar faces, hearing joyful songs.

Tell me you have an answer of what is awaiting beyond,

Untangle the mysterious knot of our existence,

Vaguely hoping to

Wake up in a lush green forest away from the

Xeric shrubland of our fears, and I know

You will await me there,

Zestful soul, greet me home.

Explore more of Ann DiAngelis's poetry on Health Inspired Journey's blog! Join the journey of words and emotions.

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Ann DiAngelis

Hello,

I'm Ann. Health and wellness are my passions, and I aspire to use my posts to educate and inspire others on their journey towards a healthier life. Exploring the world of poetry is a recent endeavor for me.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Manisha Dhalani3 months ago

    So sad.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.