Poets logo

She’s a Wanderer Now.

Do the dead reacall their shadows?

By Emelia BeamPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

It was a girl

she loved the sunshine

and we had each other,

of this I am certain.

Adrift now I think of her,

how she would walk me home after dark-

but only if the streetlights were on.

And if I was creeping out the window

to meet some boy

she would always follow,

and stand behind me

in the glare of his headlights

whispering-

don’t go;

always gone into the dark

when I looked back from the passenger seat.

She knew when I felt good,

we would both stretch out after dinner

cooling off in the low red sun.

Everyday growing and shrinking

together-

no strings no staples no glue-

We were connected the same

way as a heartbeat is to a star.

How surprisingly sudden it was

when I slipped from her,

rose from my bed and simply

walked down the road.

It was so early,

the Morning still had her curlers in-

was still draped in the glittering night.

I looked up to the changing sky

the grace of freedom.

I looked down- the flitter of loss

that we would never be together again,

of this I am certain.

The dead have no shadow.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Emelia Beam

24 y/o writer, traveler and poetic sentimentalist.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.