Poets logo

She Is The Wound And The Sword

As she fights for her wings

By Colleen Millsteed Published 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 2 min read
8
Image courtesy of Pixabay

She was always loyal to the stars, regardless

She knows they’ve lost her precious dreams,

Still she’d gift them with her utmost secrets

Left on their doorstep within their light beams.

***

She would only present this wonderful offering

On those nights when the full moon would shine,

Feeling the risk was minimised in the moonlight

Allowing her dreams to be made up of the divine.

***

I get the feeling she doesn’t understand her role

She doesn’t belong here on this earthly plane,

She struggles now and has grown terribly weary

Of the wanting of people and the world’s insane.

***

She was force fed their beliefs, day in, day out

Ultimately she choked on their horrid accusations,

Until she’s convinced she’s the very definition of sin

They had her believing she was a total mutation.

***

I watched in horror as they left her with nothing

I feel she no longer believed she deserved to live,

My heart broke on her behalf as she stumbled

Wishing I’d abundant confidence for her to give.

***

Still through all that torture, if she had it to give

She would gift it to those in need, at her expense,

Giving all of herself until she was an empty vessel

Almost resulting in her becoming a past tense.

***

I know she was weary, tired and totally worn out

Because I could often hear her wounded cries,

Her screams of agony constantly haunts my soul

And I hope with all that, this will not be her demise.

***

Then one day I come upon her, her head held high

As she wept to the stars, confessing in her heart,

Begging them for forgiveness as she feels blame

For how they treated her when the moon was dark.

***

She quietly whispers so only the stars and I can hear

“I am not what I seem. I am the wound you can see,

And I am also the sword that caused that deep gash

As I search and fight for my wings they’d cut from me.”

***************************************************

If you liked my writing, please click on the small heart underneath, near my name. Or send me a tip and let me know you enjoyed it.

****

Please click the link below my name to read more of my work. I would also like to thank you for taking the time to read this today and for all your support.

If you enjoy this piece, you may enjoy this one too.

Originally posted on Medium

surreal poetry
8

About the Creator

Colleen Millsteed

My first love is poetry — it’s like a desperate need to write, to free up space in my mind, to escape the constant noise in my head. Most of the time the poems write themselves — I’m just the conduit holding the metaphorical pen.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Test2 years ago

    This poem has a powerful message as always. Thank you for sharing!

  • Babs Iverson2 years ago

    Awesome surreal poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.