Poets logo

She Had No Idea

True Beauty

By David E. PerryPublished 6 months ago 1 min read
2

She had no idea I was standing there

She had no idea I’d stop and stare

She had no idea I fell in love

With this gift that’s sent from God above

Her eyes were closed as she lie asleep

I walked up close, didn’t make a peep

Her hair was black and smooth as silk

Her skin the shade of chocolate milk

Peace, I saw written on her face

The Prettiest in the human race

I used a gentle, mild technique

To rub my hand across her cheek

Her skin was soft and also smooth

Her smile informed me she did approve

This little girl, just hours old

Far more precious than the purest gold

She had no idea I was standing there

She had no idea I’d stop and stare

She had no idea I fell in love

With this gift that’s sent from God above

love poems
2

About the Creator

David E. Perry

Writing gives me the power to create my own worlds. I'm in control of the universe of my design. My word is law. Would you like to know the first I ever wrote? Read Sandy:

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran6 months ago

    Awww, this was so sweet and lovely! Such a wonderful poem!

  • Novel Allen6 months ago

    So, twins. you kind of tricked me at the beginning there. Touching a stranger's cheek, babies are such a gift indeed.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.