Poets logo

She caught my Love

Far from London in the Spanish sun. She is here.

By Thomas BW BarronPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like
She caught my Love
Photo by Marina Vitale on Unsplash

She caught my Love

The Morning was spread with blue and delight

As the path, well worn, ventured on out of sight.

I still had a knife on me for a murderer was on the tracks

But we were happy on The Camino with bags on backs.

Beyond birds baying out new songs:

That clipped and zipped the drums of ears

I heard the sweet strong call of a man sitting in his Scottish armour.

The panorama of trees housed in green

Now bore sleeves of a life on the edge of a village.

And as we drew near

To that table with the booming tartan army spear

I saw her in all her glory

Unaware she was the Queen in my newly etched story.

My heart stopped and broke its case:

Framed a butterfly

That easily slipped my cage.

She, of the deepest stares of riptide that ever I did see

Took my face on a journey of soul where cosmic eyes do live.

And I saw other skins and the stars at nursery,

For Hers was a torch alight -

She spells Love so put down your fears.

Do not fight!

Tall and tanned with sumptuous small shorts.

Hair that is brown and red and wavy and long.

I grab that string and let the kite of love soar into the sun.

Oh Sol of Sole of marching fizzing fun,

Wrap my body in hers and let us sail for ancient parts.

Under smooth skin taken in order from the sea

To swim out as far as can be and bring back huge oysters and gems and seaweed for tea.

Ask for her number, say something damn you boy!

Make peace with your idiocy and stutter out patter.

Go! She moves and the ship is sailing ahoy!

But I must stay, play protocol, order brekkie and get fatter.

My Mexican dude,

He stands aloft with such great height.

Admits she was glorious

But I burst red and declare it was me that had this love at first sight!

Mermaids, Sirens, Sheeba and Helen,

Her delicate poise with claws slicing Melons.

Oh, how I long to taste that nectar of juice

Give me a glass, let it all loose.

I know not her name

But I want her all the same.

The beat bites my heels, calls me to follow -

Nay! I will not stalk her and see her as prey.

Slay the lust, declare this only True.

She is Mighty and Fine and more than any other. Lover? Si. Friend? Definitely.

Partner in crime, wrestle sometimes?

Of course you eegit so raise your saddle and fly!

I am found and hung out to dry,

for the slopes I trust and roam snigger at my hapless courting try.

But I am home.

Far from London in the Spanish sun. She is here.

And wherever she trots I will go and flow for this Way is nothing without her.

So, boots and feet eat up more land as love's brilliant blur continues.

Oh, honeyed one

of legs so long

fly with me in the comb of fun

Bind our hearts with lace so strong

That gilds the rooftops with passion and pining.

You are like the great bird that has decided to stay,

a Flamingo, a hummingbird a phoenix and jay.

I want to seal up the sun

balance it on my thumb

light up your eyes, blazing so bright.

You idiot you blind her! You head is not right!

But you bewitch me with those shorts so small,

that enthral and fall to just above your thigh.

I sigh at the image as you disappear

Hold my eternal breath that kindles in my chest.

So away I must go! Clothe this desire in action a while

Make strides forwards whilst still in my prime.

Dimes, euros, knees all do chime -

Give them both a race then,

this new love you now have and the artist known as Time.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Thomas BW Barron

I am a 36 year old Writer who also treads the boards, writes songs and manages the daily difficulties and joys of being Half Werewolf.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.