Poets logo

Shattered Wine *⚠️trigger warning ⚠️*

Glass Fragments and Red

By Sarah JanePublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 2 min read
1
Shattered Wine *⚠️trigger warning ⚠️*
Photo by Jonathan Cooper on Unsplash

Glass

against asphalt

screamed louder

than my lungs

*

Bottles

furiously flung

from my fists

*

Red wine

radiating

*

Sizzling

in the flames

of my anger

*

“This is the reason

why you’re like this!”

*

Destroying

the ammunition

for the alcoholic

*

Boiling

from her blatant

disregard for her

teetering teenage

daughter’s cry

for help

*

As her youthful

wrists bled

her mother’s aged

furrows growled

*

I called her out

for molding her like this

*

I cried thunderstorms and fire,

“Don’t shame her

for hurting herself!"

“She needs help.”

“Don’t you remember

who taught her how to do this?”

*

Earthquake cracks

in her image

made her ego erupt

*

She flipped the script

twice that night

to save her own hide

*

A camera flash in time

and things got even worse

than I could describe

*

A suicide cry from

my little sister

turned into

fresh bruises

a yelling match

and

processing flashbacks

of even darker times

*

A pile of

shattered bottles

turned into

over an hour-long drive

in the back of a police car

to the nearest mental institution

*

The grotesque mother

left her bleeding child

alone to die

*

While she followed

the black sheep

locked in cuffs

to surveil everything

and make sure she

kept her lips sealed

*

Her image

was more important

than anything

Even if it meant

institutionalizing

or leaving

her daughters

to die

*

These are the reasons

why I hated court ordered visits

Life was peaceful back home

My life absent of this wicked witch

*

It was a long night

that bled into dawn

*

My evaluation finished

The evaluator let me go

By then the police had vanished

and I freely walked out the door

*

only to be met

by my prison warden

*

The LMFT mother

evaluated the evaluator

demanding they keep me

locked up in the loony bin

*

“We can’t do that.”

*

“That’s ridiculous!”

“She’s crazy!”

“Did she tell you what she did!?”

*

“Yes,

but we can’t keep her

because she’s not crazy.”

“She’s just angry.”

and rightfully so

*

The mother

made a scene

demanding

they reevaluate

their decision

*

“Look, she’s been here for hours,

and she doesn’t belong in a place like this.”

“Don’t you think that’s punishment enough?”

“If you really want us to keep her here

I have to question your own sanity.”

*

The mother’s

image and ego

shattered

like her precious

wine bottles

*

Glass fragments

and red

*

As soon as she was done

melting the evaluator

with her words

I hitched a ride back

with my prison warden

*

I tuned out

the demonic screams

the whole ride back

*

The only thing on my mind

the entire night

bleeding to dawn

was my baby sister’s

ghostly white face

and red river arms

*

I tried to protect her

I tried to stand up for her

and it all just backfired

*

I prayed to god

that she was still alive

heartbreak
1

About the Creator

Sarah Jane

Writing has been Sarah's passion since she was 7 years-old when she began writing poetry and short stories. Now, she's sharing her gift with the world. Subscribe, and come take a whirl in her words.

Tips are appreciated!

IG: @sarahjane.speaks

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.