Poets logo

Sharing The World Introvert Day with my Sister, the Extravert

January 2 (prompt from L.C. Schafer...The World Introvert part)

By Shirley BelkPublished 4 months ago Updated 4 months ago 1 min read
7
Farmer's Market

The second day of January always belongs to my sister, Kitty. She was born on that day, so I must celebrate the world's day set aside for introverts with her! She is the furthest creature from an introvert that could ever be. That is my role. So, the sharing is perfect. I will have to share an imaginary day with her because, you see...we live in two different worlds, it seems.

She alternates her life from sunny California and snowy Utah, works in the field of high tech, marketing products I have no idea how to use, much less understand, and gets her hair and nails done on a regular...she's had the same manicurist for almost thirty years. I know I'm throwing randomness in, but stay with me. Kitty also has a crew of other life long friends. She and that crew just came back from a girls trip to Paris, France. Although my sister could easily be described as vibrant...even flamboyant with her locks of wild red hair, it is her rather loud, boisterous personality that one could pick her out of the bunch by. I say this in the most loving way, though. It's something we have all come to accept. My niece (her daughter,) says her mom is sometimes a bit "extra."

So, on the other hand, I am the complete opposite of Kitty, (the obvious extro/extravert.) I am the introvert. I am also ten years her senior, so take that into consideration, as well. I live in the South and have the accent to prove it and the attitude, if I must. But for the most part, I'm pretty quiet and laid back. The closest I've been to Paris is the one in Texas. I also cut (or whack at) my own hair most of the time. My nails are fit to do the jobs required...like the dishes.

Our imaginary day together would be fun, though. I think I'd plan a day at the farmer's market. I wouldn't have to worry about losing her in the crowd because, well...we could hear her. We'd have fun and spend lots of money on Southern homemade goodies we both like. Happy Birthday, Kitty!

GratitudehumorFree VerseFor FunFamily
7

About the Creator

Shirley Belk

Mother, Nana, Sister, Cousin, & Aunt who recently retired. RN (Nursing Instructor) who loves to write stories to heal herself and reflect on all the silver linings she has been blessed with

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran4 months ago

    Lol, I'm an introvert just like you! Wishing Kitty a veryyyyy Happy Birthday! 🎂🥰

  • Novel Allen4 months ago

    Your family stories sound like fairy tales. This was a fun read, i have the exact two sisters-one extra and one a closed book. I could use an imaginary vacay.

  • Denise E Lindquist4 months ago

    I sure relate. Kind of😉 I have always been more of an introvert than my younger sister too. Since she died, that has changed some. I find myself talking to almost anyone. Not sure what that is about. I retired from counseling and wondered if that is why the talking to everyone. I had several years of working with people. I turned 10 in 1964 too😉

  • Hannah Moore4 months ago

    I really enjoyed this. I want to join you on your imaginary day.

  • Test4 months ago

    Enjoyed this Shirley -Your sister sounds like great fun! I share your kind of nails. I couldn't think of anything worse than sitting having them done with the burden to converse laying having. Same reason I cut my own hair! Happy Introvert day! 🤍

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.