Poets logo

SHARED FEELINGS

When two worlds collide

By Elizabeth ButlerPublished 7 months ago 2 min read
Like

The Graveyard shift at the bar scrubbing tables,

Wandering into the bathrooms, cleaning up the disabled.

It’s quiet inside, outside weather howls on,

Stretching my arms to turn off the air con,

I notice a creature, behind a tree, it hides.

Not human, but alien, way too odd to describe.

I stare into its soul, the darkness conceals its size,

I watch it closely transfixed as it reveals its human disguise.

Watching the alien enter the bar,

I see an escape route, by my parked car.

Composing myself, I stand behind the counter,

Gearing myself up for my first alien encounter.

Its human appearance could fool anyone there,

Not like any of these locals would care.

Fortunately, or unfortunately depends how you look at it,

Alone with an alien could be interesting I admit.

It staggered towards me, not like a human being,

I feel as though I know what exactly it’s seeing.

I know what you are, and I am not afraid,

It reached out towards me, its fingers displayed.

I laughed playfully, my smile not tiring,

The alien studied me, his mouth corners smiling.

Would you like to taste some ale?

They nodded, their nose ready for them to inhale.

I watched as he gulped the tasty drink down,

Grinning at me like some sort of clown.

One drink, then another and then just one more,

The alien staggered, dropping to the dirty floor.

Let me help you, get up from there,

As it sat, crouched, crying hard in despair.

Just like a human, your emotions are true,

As it looked into my eyes it was as though he knew.

I want to learn more, but everything I do is wrong,

I don’t know who I am, I’ve been on Earth for too long.

You’re homesick it seems,

You want to succeed at your dreams,

But this doesn’t mean that you are weak,

It’s about all the effort and hope that you seek.

The alien’s tears cleared, while smiling at me,

Do what you want to do and be who you want to be.

inspirationalhumor
Like

About the Creator

Elizabeth Butler

Elizabeth Butler has a masters in Creative Writing University .She has published anthology, Turning the Tide was a collaboration. She has published a short children's story and published a book of poetry through Bookleaf Publishing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.