Poets logo

shards and the aftermath

or I am Jack's inflamed sense of rejection

By Amanda "PrttyBrd" StephensPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like
shards and the aftermath
Photo by Viktor Forgacs on Unsplash

severed my eyelids with bad timing

and bladed questions

facing memories of salt baths

naked, skinned, and floundering

years of pained responses to innocent words

twisted into my pained responses to words

that never felt innocent

they may have been unintentional

an unfortunate truth that burns like

the years of passive rejection that kept you from me

the gouging of a smile stolen in the cutting off

of outstretched arms longing to feel you

entrusted with my naked heart

it was spat in my face like nothing

proven by that resting heart rate as joy lay bleeding

my words were harsh, but true

and I broke my spirit having spewed them

erased the sight of them, but not the stain

the pain lingers in your latent resentment

and the shame you used

to blanket my joy

9520

135w

Audio File:

https://soundcloud.com/prttybrdpoetry/shards-and-the-aftermath-or-i?ref=clipboard

performance poetry
Like

About the Creator

Amanda "PrttyBrd" Stephens

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.