Poets logo

Shadows of a Heavy Heart

"Navigating Life's Darkest Moments with Courage and Resilience"

By Ahmed khizerPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like

Shadows of a Heavy Heart

A weight upon my chest I feel,

As shadows creep round;

A heavy coronary heart that cannot be healed,

A sorrow without sound.

These shadows comply with me every day,

And haunt me within the night;

A regular presence that won't stray,

A in no way-ending fight.

They grasp to me like a shroud,

And whisper in my ear;

Their icy breath, it makes me cower,

Their presence oh so near.

The recollections they convey to mind,

Are filled with pain and grief;

I want that I should depart behind,

This burden and not using a remedy.

But shadows of a heavy heart,

Are no longer so without difficulty shed;

They linger on and tear apart,

All hopes and dreams I've bred.

So I ought to discover ways to stay with them,

These shadows that won't go away;

And wish that sooner or later they will develop dim,

These shadows of a heavy coronary heart.

love poemshow toheartbreakbuyers guide
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.