Poets logo

Shadowed Comforts

In the dark, in the quiet, depression lessens.

By Brittany MillerPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
10

Turbulent.

Quaking, shaking, thoughts breaking apart.

It is silent, empty, broken apart.

Do you not hear it?

Unraveling.

There is a monster in my head, lurking.

It is hateful, angry, and well fed.

It's always there.

Reaching.

Keys on a board, ink on a page.

A feeling lost in translation.

The meaning, lost.

Searching.

A book on a shelf unopened.

Untold stories unfolding.

Escaping within.

Grasping.

Worlds of magic and fantasy sprawling outward.

The ends are shallow, the depths immense.

I am lost, frightened, enchanted.

Finding.

The heavy comforter on my bed weighs heavily on my thoughts.

The sheathed claw of my cat's paw tucked beneath my chin.

It quells the thoughts as surely as it turns the tide.

Comfort.

Steady pressure of a blanket warm soothes me.

The rumbling purr of my cat is always near.

Words and worlds consume me.

A friend within is dear.

My mind open.

sad poetryinspirational
10

About the Creator

Brittany Miller

As a writer who loves the fantastical and unnatural, Brittany enjoys writing fictional stories that fall into the fantasy and horror genres.

Find her here: https://www.facebook.com/thechaosarchivist

Or here: brittanicolemiller.wordpress.com

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  4. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • Amy Writes2 years ago

    Really cool format! I liked this a lot

  • Wow, your poem brought me from chaotic to calm. From catastrophe to comfort. This was a much needed poem. Thank you so much for this beauty!

  • Joan Crow2 years ago

    We all can relate to this - love your poem.

  • Heather Hubler2 years ago

    Wow, I loved how you took us through the ugly to get to the calm. I hope you're at the calm and comforting stage now :) Beautiful poetry.

  • Cathy holmes2 years ago

    This is so well done. I could feel the transition to calm as I was reading. Very, very good.

  • Test2 years ago

    This is fantastic. Easily one of my favourite reads of the challenge so far. You write so beautifully and with such raw and genuine emotion.

  • Babs Iverson2 years ago

    Asesome!!👏😊💖💕

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.