Poets logo

Shadow Work

Finding Myself

By A. P. CooperPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Shadow Work
Photo by Prateek Gautam on Unsplash

i’ve been lost for a long while

searching somewhere to belong

but never quite fitting into anyone’s style

like a chameleon changes colors to blend

i matched my surroundings to fit in

i was never fulfilled

because i was never myself

i didn’t know who i was

too busy trying to build

some version defined by everyone else

never taking the time to address my needs

or even think about what i want

i was lost to my own shadows

hidden in my own darkness

allowing my demons to feed

off my insecurities

accepting a spiritual death so slow

i didn’t even know

that it was happening

but at some point i lit a candle

the flame was low

still it shined so bright

i began to speak to it with love, kindness and compassion

i needed to grow the light

i needed to get up and fight

my doubts and my fears

so i got to work

embracing my darker side

it’s nothing to be ashamed of

it’s nothing to hide

i just needed my own acceptance

i needed to love all of me

and now that i do

no longer do i aimlessly roam

no longer am i afraid to be alone

because within myself

i found my home

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

A. P. Cooper

I write. Point. Blank. Period. It’s what I know. It’s where I live. It’s who I am. So if you really want to get to know me, read what I write.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.