Poets logo

Shadow

For Those Suffering with Depression, Addiction, or Suicidal Thoughts

By Julie LacksonenPublished 3 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
59
Shadow
Photo by Rene Böhmer on Unsplash

You used to be the life of the party.

You used to be the light of my days.

You used to be everything to me,

But “used to be’s” a sorry phrase.

I ache to have the old you with me.

I want to give you hugs every night.

But how can I find you, my dear friend,

When you seem to have lost your light?

*

You’re a shadow, sha-sha-sha-shadow, nothing but a shadow on the wall.

You’re a shadow, sha-sha-sha-shadow, there’s no “u” in us at all.

Something is darker about you. Somehow, you’ve gone away.

I know that you are fighting for a way to smother the gray. But...

You’re a shadow, sha-sha-sha-shadow, nothing but a shadow on the wall.

You’re a shadow, sha-sha-sha-shadow, there’s no “u” in us at all.

*

I want your laugh. I want your smile. I want your love. It’s been a while.

I’ll be your strength. I’m here for you. Just lean on me. We’ll see it through.

*

I’m begging you to get the help you need.

I don’t know what I can do.

Please, don’t you give up on yourself.

I won’t ever give up on you.

I can see what you are going through.

You don't deserve such distress.

But it’s time to face this thing head-on.

I can see that you’re a mess.

*

You’re a shadow, sha-sha-sha-shadow, nothing but a shadow on the wall.

You’re a shadow, sha-sha-sha-shadow, there’s no “u” in us at all.

Something is darker about you. Somehow, you’ve gone away.

I know that you are fighting for a way to smother the gray. But...

You’re a shadow, sha-sha-sha-shadow, nothing but a shadow on the wall.

You’re a shadow, sha-sha-sha-shadow, there’s no “u” in us at all.

*

Thank you for reading this poem, which is a musical work. If you or someone you love is suffering, please seek help. No one wants you to be a shadow of your former self.

inspirational
59

About the Creator

Julie Lacksonen

Julie has been a music teacher at a public school in Arizona since 1987. She enjoys writing, reading, walking, swimming, and spending time with family.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Cathy holmes2 years ago

    truly beautiful Julie. Well done

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.