Poets logo

Shades of Orange

Surreality

By John WelfordPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1

I am a child of the orange light

I am a child of the tangerine sun

I am the orange moon that fell in love with me

I am the orange earth that brought my mother to life

I am the orange that grasped my father’s heart away from motherland

and turned his voice into an echo of itself,

repeating until his words were empty.

I am the orange that stained my father’s hands and rusted his tools

And, when I was born, darkened his heart.

I am the orange that once lit up my mother’s smile,

like the sun sinking in the sea.

Yet -

I am the orange that turned my mother’s eyes into saucers,

and drained her face of color and joy.

I am the orange that turned her hair into flame,

burning her scalp and singeing her soul.

I am the orange that turned my brother into a thundercloud,

that made him rumble and roar over every small thing,

that made his eyes flash and flicker like lightning bolts across the sky.

I am the orange that turned my sister into a hurricane,

that whipped up her hair and blew open her mouth.

that turned her eyes into lanterns that lit up the house with their fire.

I am the orange that darkened my grandmother’s world,

that made her wither and die before her time,

that dried out her mouth and made it crack with thirst.

I am the orange that turned her words into seeds,

that fell from her mouth like raindrops on a dry field.

I am the invisible shades of orange

that swirl through dark and light.

surreal poetry
1

About the Creator

John Welford

I am a retired librarian, having spent most of my career in academic and industrial libraries.

I write on a number of subjects and also write stories as a member of the "Hinckley Scribblers".

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.