Poets logo

sewn with love, baked like bread

words of an anti-poet

By Rooney MorganPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1
sewn with love, baked like bread
Photo by Julian Hochgesang on Unsplash

Can I pick just one thing?

A cool room and a warm bed

Pleasures of the simplest kind

A hammock in the summer breeze

Rocking rocking rocking

Heavy like homemade bread

Fresh and warm

As if baked by my father

Or like a hug from my mother

Her soft arms so strong around me

Her embrace always smelling

Like mom

No matter what soap she uses

Her voice at my door in the morning

“Goodbye my dear, I love you”

Before she leaves for work

And sometimes I am like a child

Pretending to still be asleep

Smiling to myself

In the moments between

The front door closing

And the car starting

Love contained

In seconds

On the phone with

A dear friend

Who never fails to remind me

That she wants my company

Even if only for a few minutes

Who came into my life with

Ernest enthusiasm

Over shared interests

Reminders time and again

That there are bonds

I am woven into

Through minds alike

Goals alike

“This reminded me of you”

Another friend tells me

A bond profound

Between creative minds

I share his dream

Of sharing wealth,

Supporting each other in

All of your strengths

Collectively

An unexpected message

From an old crush admitting

He never knew why

We drifted apart

So young and dumb

My belly full of moths

Now long-settled

Leaving only sentiment

And good conversation

A toy bear from my sibling

Long and round and beige

Like the bread my father bakes

Named for its likeness

Loaf

The words I send to my love

In place of a kiss

While she remains far away

“I love you, sweet dreams”

“Sleep well, I love you too”

Just about

My last thought for the night

My first thought in the morning

All of these things

Form a quilt that never ends

With a thread made of love

And patches made of

Comfort

Thank you so much for reading. Poetry is not a medium I usually gravitate towards but I am finding a renewed love for it in its unstructured and freeing forms.

I am a disabled writer and Vocal is my only source of income, so if you enjoyed my work and would like to support me, please consider leaving a tip.

Rooney

love poems
1

About the Creator

Rooney Morgan

'97, neuroqueer (she/they), genre-eclectic (screen) writer.

Thanks for visiting my profile, if you'd like to find me elsewhere click here.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • K.M. Dallas2 years ago

    Making me misty and mushy. I love it though.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.