Poets logo

Set Me Free

Inside the Membrane - Cyrl's Corner

By CyCyPublished about a year ago 1 min read
2
All covers are designed by me by utilizing Canva Pro

Before you read:

The struggle to keep the Spirit motivated is a tricky one.

Although I do my best to keep myself healthy and heal my wounds, the shadows of the past are always present at the back of my mind.

It is a part of me that I am continuously learning to work with - and I believe that most people feel the same way as well.

P.S. This poem is inspired by my daily struggles with my mental health.

Set me Free

My soul longed for the unknown.

Unknown to my mind.

Unknown to my heart.

My soul sought knowledge

that I cannot comprehend.

It sought the truth.

It sought freedom

from the shackles that bound it

to this world.

My soul longed for everything

that the universe could ever offer.

And yet, its desire to continue

wavers each day.

My soul longed for a life

that I am too afraid to live.

I fear the day when these desires

become too grandiose for me to reach.

My soul longed for eternity

to satisfy its curiosity.

And yet, it wishes for

Death every day

to come and take me away.

My soul longed for me

to finally see the opportunity

that is laid before me.

But I am too blind to see

that the one who imprisoned me

had always been me.

So, I long for the day

when I am finally free

from me.

Maybe one day,

I can set myself free.

Hi, I'm CyCy!

Thank you for reading. I truly appreciate it.

I usually create darker content, whether art, video shorts, or stories. If this is something that you also enjoy, let's be friends :)

You can connect with me on Instagram, Twitter & TikTok @cyrls_corner and read my Lux et Obscurum issues at https://cyrlscorner.com/short-stories/lux-et-obscurum-grimoire/.

P.S. I would truly appreciate your support whether it would be subscribing, sharing this page with your friends, leaving me a tip, or giving your pledge (which is $2.99/month). If you also want updates on my latest releases, sign up for my newsletter here.

P.P.S. I also offer Beta-Reader services if you are a writer/author and need a Beta-Reader. Check out my Fiverr link here.

https://www.fiverr.com/cyrls_corner/beta-read-your-fiction-short-story-novella-and-novel

sad poetry
2

About the Creator

CyCy

The Chaotic Creator | Writer, Poet, & Blogger | Multi-Genre | Beta-Reader

Fiverr: @cyrls_corner

Twitter: @cyrls_corner

Website: cyrlscorner.com

Sign up for my Newsletter & get updates on my latest posts by clicking here

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Natalie Demossabout a year ago

    So true. We are often the ones holding ourselves back.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.