Poets logo

Septentrionalem Status

A dream is just that, a dream.

By Irini OrihuelaPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Septentrionalem Status
Photo by Joshua Webb on Unsplash

You weren’t supposed to be a pipe dream.

You were supposed to be something that happened.

But you didn’t.

So I sat at home,

Cursing up to the sky,

Why me?

Why did it have to be this way?

Why did I deserve this?

Years passed,

And I learned to live with the pain,

Of another dream,

That wouldn’t see the light of day.

The problem was,

I was so close,

I could taste it.

Then in the blink of an eye,

You were gone.

I sit here,

Happy, but not fully.

You were never supposed to be a pipe dream.

But you turned into it,

And all I can think is

You weren’t supposed to be a pipe dream.

love poemsslam poetrysurreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Irini Orihuela

An amateur poet who pretends she is Emily Dickinson

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.